top of page



The European Adventurer of the Year

The European Adventurer of the Year started in 2009 and the prize consists of the honor and recognition of the achievement. The first award winner, Italian climber, Simone Moro, was honored for his winther decent of Makalu (8463 meters). The 2010 Award winner was the Britsh Adventurer Ed Stafford, for his Amazonas walk. 2011 the Award went to the excelent Austrian climber Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner for compliting all the 14, 8000 peaks without oxygen. In 2012 Felix Baumgartner was awarded for his jump at the speed of sound from the Red Bull Stratos capsule at 39 000 meter. In 2013, the award went to Sarah Marquis for her epic walk from Siberia to Australia... and so on!

Most recent winner

Mark Agnew - Scottland

After numerous attempts to navigate the challenging Northwest Passage, Scottish adventurer Mark Agnew and his three American teammates achieved success. The expedition, spanning 102 days from July 1 to October 12, commenced in Baffin Bay and officially concluded upon reaching the Beaufort Sea—the internationally recognized western boundary of the Northwest Passage.

Since 2013, various teams have endeavored to traverse this passage solely under human power, excluding sails and motors. The harsh elements, dense ice, and diverse wildlife make navigating the Northwest Passage a formidable maritime challenge and a thrilling adventure. Typically only navigable for a brief period in the summer, the full transit represents a significant accomplishment.

For successfully completing one of the world's last great kayaking adventures, Mark Agnew is honored as the European Adventurer of the Year 2023.

Pictures from the adventure-award ceremony

Nominate the next adventurer